Go Advanced Search
 

Buy from a third party:




Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Kyle Dickman
This Narrator: Will Damron
This Publisher: Random House Audio

On the Burning Edge by Kyle Dickman

On the Burning Edge

A Fateful Fire and the Men Who Fought It

by Kyle Dickman


Video About This Audio Book



Product Details

Author
Narrator
Publisher
 
Unabridged Edition
Running Time
9 Hrs.33 Min.
Share This

Description

In the tradition of Sebastian Junger's The Perfect Storm and Robert Kurson's Shadow Divers comes a true and heartbreaking tale of courage, difficult decisions, and ultimate sacrifice. On the Burning Edge, by award-winning journalist and former wildland firefighter Kyle Dickman, is the definitive account of the Yarnell Hill Fire.

On June 28, 2013, a single bolt of lightning sparked an inferno that devoured more than 8,000 acres in Northern Arizona. Twenty elite firefighters - the Granite Mountain Hotshots - walked together into the blaze, tools in their hands and fire shelters on their hips. Only one of them walked out.

Dickman brings to the story a professional firefighter's understanding of how wildfires ignite, how they spread, and how they are fought. He understands hotshots and their culture: the pain and glory of a rough and vital job, the brotherly bonds born of dangerous work. Drawing on dozens of interviews with officials, families of the fallen, and the lone survivor, he describes in vivid detail what it's like to stand inside a raging fire - and shows how the increased population and decreased water supply of the American West guarantee that many more young men will step into harm's way in the coming years.


People Who Liked On the Burning Edge Also Liked These Free Titles:
  How Long, Not Long
by Martin Luther King, Jr.

  Fail to the Chief Podcast
by Thom Woodley

  Jimmy Carter Speeches
by Jimmy Carter

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: May 2015
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: O100212
Available On
Volumes
ISBN-10
ISBN-13
Download