Go Advanced Search

  Get this audio book:

Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: A.E. Housman
This Narrator: Samuel West
This Publisher: NAXOS AudioBooks

A Shropshire Lad by A.E. Housman

A Shropshire Lad

by A.E. Housman

Title Details

Unabridged Edition
Running Time
1 Hr. 4 Min.


Naxos AudioBooks continues its popular The Great Poets series with A Shropshire Lad by A. E. Housman. Published at the author's own expense in 1896, after rejection from publishers, the collection contains a cycle of 63 poems. Despite exploring themes of lost love, obsession, pessimism, and death, the poems touched English readers and the book became a best seller during the Second Boer War and World War I. The collection, set in a half-imagined pastoral Shropshire, includes the well-known poems "When I Was One-and-Twenty", "To an Athlete Dying Young", and "Loveliest of Trees, the Cherry Now".

People Who Liked A Shropshire Lad Also Liked These Free Titles:
by Decimus Iunius Iuvenalis

  Charles Reznikoff Poetry Readings
by Charles Reznikoff

  The Forest
by Ben Jonson

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: May 2011
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: A069874
Available On