Go Advanced Search

  Get this audio book:

Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn
This Narrator: Frederick Davidson
This Publisher: Blackstone Audio

The Gulag Archipelago: Volume I Section I by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

The Gulag Archipelago: Volume I Section I

by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

Title Details

Unabridged Edition
Running Time
13 Hrs. 30 Min.


In this masterpiece, Solzhenitsyn has orchestrated thousands of incidents and individual histories into one narrative of unflagging power and momentum. Written in a tone that encompasses Olympian wrath, bitter calm, savage irony, and sheer comedy, it combines history, autobiography, documentary and political analysis as it examines in its totality the Soviet apparatus of repression from its inception following the October Revolution of 1917.
This volume involves us in the innocent victim's arrest and preliminary detention and the stages by which he is transferred across the breadth of the Soviet Union to his ultimate destination: the hard-labor camp.

People Who Liked The Gulag Archipelago: Volume I Section I Also Liked These Free Titles:
  Simon Winchester Videos on C-SPAN
by Simon Winchester

  World Civilization to 1500
by Sally Vaughn

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: 1990
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: T002068
Available On
9 Tapes