Go Advanced Search

Get this free title from:

Free Stuff in These Categories
Find More Titles by
This Publisher: Oxford University

George Eliot Lecture Series

George Eliot Lecture Series

Product Details

Audio Original
Share This
In this series of three lectures, Oxford Professor Catherine Brown examines the life, work, and critical legacy of Victorian novelist, George Eliot. An intellectual powerhouse, Eliot's classic books, including Middlemarch, The Mill on the Floss, Silas Marner, and Adam Bede are known for their carefully constructed, brilliantly researched stories filled with characters expressive of the author's moral and philosophical interests. Brown also gives an up to the moment appraisal of Eliot's ongoing legacy, providing a historical overview of how Eliot's initial fame began to decline in the 1930s, only to be revived in the post-war period by a series of influential critics that compared her importance to contemporaries such as Jane Austen, Joseph Conrad, and Henry James.

People Who Liked George Eliot Lecture Series Also Liked These Free Titles:
  Life of Harriet Beecher Stowe
by Charles Edward Stowe

  Ralph Ellison: Invisible Man
by Arnold Rampersad

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

Podcast Episodes

Podcast Feed URL:

More Details

  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: G074816
Available On