Go Advanced Search
 

  Get this audio book:




Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Blair Tindall
This Narrator: Amanda Ronconi
This Publisher: Audible.com

Mozart in the Jungle by Blair Tindall

Mozart in the Jungle

Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music

by Blair Tindall


Title Details

Author
Narrator
Publisher
 
Unabridged Edition
Running Time
12 Hrs.26 Min.
Share This

Description

In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland's Dancing on My Grave, Mozart in the Jungle delves into the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music.

In a book that inspired the Amazon original series starring Gael Garcia Bernal and Malcolm McDowell, oboist Blair Tindall recounts her decades-long professional career as a classical musician, from the recitals and Broadway orchestra performances to the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth in the backbiting New York classical music scene, trading sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions. These are working-class musicians who schlep across the city between low-paying gigs, without health-care benefits or retirement plans - a stark contrast to the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars.

An incisive, no-holds-barred account, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.


People Who Liked Mozart in the Jungle Also Liked These Titles:
  The Life of Mozart
by Perry Keenlyside

  Will in the World
by Stephen Greenblatt

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: March 2015
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: M092797
Available On
Volumes
ISBN-10
ISBN-13
Download