Go
 

  Get this audio book:

( Amazon.com )        # of Discs: 10




Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Joe Queenan
This Narrator: Johnny Heller
This Publisher: Tantor Audio

Closing Time: A Memoir by Joe Queenan

Closing Time: A Memoir

by Joe Queenan

Title Details

Author
Narrator
Publisher
 
Unabridged Edition
Running Time
12 Hrs. 30 Min.

Description

Joe Queenan's acerbic riffs on movies, sports, books, politics, and many of the least forgivable phenomena of pop culture have made him one of the most popular humorists and commentators of our time. In Closing Time, Queenan turns his sights on a more serious and personal topic: his childhood in a Philadelphia housing project in the early 1960s.

By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Closing Time recounts Queenan's Irish Catholic upbringing in a family dominated by his erratic father, a violent yet oddly charming emotional terrorist whose alcoholism fuels a limitless torrent of self-pity, railing, destruction, and late-night chats with the Lord Himself. With the help of a series of mentors and surrogate fathers, and armed with his own furious love of books and music, Joe begins the long flight away from the dismal confines of his neighborhood---with a brief misbegotten stop at a seminary---and into the wider world.

Queenan's unforgettable account of the damage done to children by parents without futures and of the grace children find to move beyond these experiences will appeal to fans of Augusten Burroughs and Mary Karr, and will take its place as an autobiography in the classic American tradition.


People Who Liked Closing Time: A Memoir Also Liked These Titles:
  This Road I Ride
by Juliana Buhring

  Teaching the Cat to Sit
by Michelle Theall

  The Summer of '82
by Dave O'Neil

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: June 2009
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: C032611
Available On
Volumes
ISBN-10
ISBN-13
Download
Audio CD
10 Discs
1400112168
9781400112166
MP3 CD
1400162165
9781400162161