Go Advanced Search
 

  Get this audio book:




Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: J. R. Moehringer
This Narrator: Adam Grupper
This Publisher: Hachette Audio

The Tender Bar by J. R. Moehringer

The Tender Bar

A Memoir

by J. R. Moehringer


Video About This Audio Book



Title Details

Narrator
Publisher
 
Unabridged Edition
Running Time
16 Hrs.
Share This

Description

The New York Times best seller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man and his romance with a bar.

J. R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J. R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J. R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J. R.'s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice.

At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J. R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar - including J. R.'s uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler - took J. R. to the beach, to ballgames, and, ultimately, into their circle. They taught J. R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering by committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J. R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J. R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak - and, eventually, reality.

In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, The Tender Bar is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it's also a moving portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.


People Who Liked The Tender Bar Also Liked These Titles:
  The James Herriot Collection
by James Herriot

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: September 2017
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: T098141
Available On
Volumes
ISBN-10
ISBN-13
Download