Get this audio book:

Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Thomas R. Hargrove
This Narrator: Robert Ferraro
This Publisher: University Press Audiobooks

A Dragon Lives Forever by Thomas R. Hargrove

A Dragon Lives Forever

War and Rice in Vietnam's Mekong Delta

by Thomas R. Hargrove

Title Details

Unabridged Edition
Running Time
18 Hrs. 12 Min.


In June 1969, Tom Hargrove arrived in Vietnam as a first lieutenant in the US Army. But he wasn't just there to make war against the Viet Cong and North Vietnamese armies. Hargrove was also there to introduce improved rice varieties into the war-torn region.

This unique memoir tells of Hargrove's efforts to improve the everyday lives of the Vietnamese, even as he was calling in B-52 strikes against opposition forces. It also relates the story of his return to Vietnam in 1988 and 1990 to observe the progress of the "green revolution" he had helped initiate with the introduction of "miracle rice".

In a dramatic twist, his guide on both visits had been a local Viet Cong political officer: a man who could have had Hargrove killed. The rice had improved the lives of the people of the land and preserved the life of Tom Hargrove, though he hadn't known it at the time.

This account of the US Army's attempts to win the hearts and minds of the Vietnamese people - an attempt that failed strategically but ultimately achieved its humanitarian goals - is a vital contribution to the ongoing history and literature of the Vietnam era. Hargrove's dramatic juxtaposition of the sword and the plowshare brings into sharp contrast the paradox of this pivotal time in history.

The book is published by Texas A&M University Press. The audiobook is published by University Press Audiobooks.

"Tom Hargrove delivers the most accurate depiction of those special Aggies that I've ever seen, exploring why they were driven to serve and, all too often, die for freedom." (Rick Perry, Governor of Texas)

People Who Liked A Dragon Lives Forever Also Liked These Titles:
  The Howe Dynasty
by Julie Flavell

  No One Left Behind
by Amy Waters Yarsinske