Go Advanced Search

  Get this audio book:

Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: David Pietrusza
This Narrator: Paul Boehmer
This Publisher: Audible.com

1920: The Year of Six Presidents by David Pietrusza

1920: The Year of Six Presidents

by David Pietrusza

Title Details

Unabridged Edition
Running Time
20 Hrs. 49 Min.


The presidential election of 1920 was among history's most dramatic. Six once-and-future presidents--Wilson, Harding, Coolidge, Hoover, and Teddy and Franklin Roosevelt--jockeyed for the White House. With voters choosing between Wilson's League of Nations and Harding's front-porch isolationism, the 1920 election shaped modern America. Women won the vote. Republicans outspent Democrats by 4 to 1, as voters witnessed the first extensive newsreel coverage, modern campaign advertising, and results broadcast on radio. America had become an urban nation: Automobiles, mass production, chain stores, and easy credit transformed the economy. 1920 paints a vivid portrait of America, beset by the Red Scare, jailed dissidents, Prohibition, smoke-filled rooms, bomb-throwing terrorists, and the Klan, gingerly crossing modernity's threshold.

People Who Liked 1920: The Year of Six Presidents Also Liked These Titles:
  Benjamin Franklin
by Carl Van Doren

  American Genesis
by Jeffrey P. Moran

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: December 2009
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: 1060655
Available On