Go
 

  Get this audio book:




Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Paul Willetts
This Narrator: Jon Glover
This Publisher: Audible.com

Rendezvous at the Russian Tea Rooms by Paul Willetts

Rendezvous at the Russian Tea Rooms

The Spyhunter, the Fashion Designer & the Man From Moscow

by Paul Willetts


Title Details

Author
Narrator
Publisher
 
Unabridged Edition
Running Time
17 Hrs.3 Min.

Description

Rendezvous at the Russian Tea Rooms provides the first comprehensive account of what was once hailed by a leading American newspaper as the greatest spy story of World War II.

This dramatic yet little-known saga, replete with telephone taps, kidnappings, and police surveillance, centres on the furtive escapades of Tyler Kent, a handsome, womanising 28-year-old Ivy League graduate who doubles as a US embassy code clerk and Soviet agent.

Against the backdrop of London high society during the so-called Phoney War, Kent's life intersects with the lives of the book's two other memorably flamboyant protagonists. One of those is Maxwell Knight, an urbane, endearingly eccentric MI5 spyhunter. The other is Anna Wolkoff, a White Russian fashion designer and Nazi spy whose outfits are worn by the Duchess of Windsor and whose parents are friends of the British royal family.

Wolkoff belongs to a fascist secret society called the Right Club, which aims to overthrow the British government. Her romantic entanglement with Tyler Kent gives her access to a secret correspondence between President Roosevelt and Winston Churchill, a correspondence that has the potential to transform the outcome of the war.

An engrossing real-life WWII espionage thriller, perfect for fans of Ben Macintyre.


People Who Liked Rendezvous at the Russian Tea Rooms Also Liked These Titles:
  China in Ten Words
by Yu Hua

  The Pity of Partition
by Ayesha Jalal

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: October 2015
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: R093162
Available On
Volumes
ISBN-10
ISBN-13
Download