Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Willa Cather
This Narrator: Donna Barkman
This Publisher: NAXOS AudioBooks

The Troll Garden

by Willa Cather

Title Details

Unabridged Edition
Running Time
6 Hrs.


This first collection of short stories by Willa Cather, published in 1905, contains some of her most well-known work. The stories follow a common theme, focusing on characters who strive for the higher concepts of beauty and creativity but are constantly hindered by the intrusion of the brutish outside world. One of the stories, "The Sculptor's Funeral," chronicles the reactions of a prairie town's inhabitants when a famous sculptor's body is returned to the village for burial. Also included here are "Flavia and Her Artists," "The Garden Lodge," "A Death in the Desert," "The Marriage of Phaedra," "A Wagner Matinee," and the literary classic "Paul's Case."

People Who Liked The Troll Garden Also Liked These Titles:
  The Red Pony
by John Steinbeck

  In Cold Blood
by Truman Capote

  The Lightning-Rod Man
by Herman Melville