Go Advanced Search
 

  Get this audio book:




Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: George Prochnik
This Narrator: Don Hagen
This Publisher: Gildan Media

In Pursuit of Silence: Listening for Meaning in a World of Noise by George Prochnik

In Pursuit of Silence: Listening for Meaning in a World of Noise

by George Prochnik


Title Details

Narrator
Publisher
 
Unabridged Edition
Running Time
9 Hrs. 24 Min.

Description

More than money, power, and even happiness, silence has become the most precious and dwindling commodity of our modern world.

Between iPods, music-blasting restaurants, earsplitting sports stadiums, and endless air and road traffic, the place for quiet in our lives grows smaller by the day. In Pursuit of Silence gives context to our increasingly desperate sense that noise pollution is, in a very real way, an environmental catastrophe.

Listening to doctors, neuroscientists, acoustical engineers, monks, activists, educators, marketers, and aggrieved citizens, George Prochnikexamines why we began to be so loud as a society, and what it is that gets lost when we can no longer find quiet. He shows us the benefits of decluttering our sonic world.

As Prochnik travels across the United States and overseas, we meet a rich cast of characters: an idealistic architect who is pioneering a new kind of silent architecture in collaboration with the Deaf community at Gallaudet University; a special operations soldier in Afghanistan (and former guitarist with Nirvana) who places silence at the heart of survival in war; a sound designer for shopping malls who ensures that the stores we visit never stop their auditory seductions; and a group of commuters who successfully revolted against piped-in music in Grand Central Station.

A brilliant, far-reaching exploration of the frontiers of noise and silence, and the growing war between them, In Pursuit of Silence is an important book that will appeal to fans of Michael Pollan and Daniel Gilbert.


People Who Liked In Pursuit of Silence: Listening for Meaning in a World of Noise Also Liked These Titles:
  To Save Everything, Click Here
by Evgeny Morozov

  Revolution
by Russell Brand

  Until It Hurts
by Mark Hyman

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: May 2010
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: I041252
Available On
Volumes
ISBN-10
ISBN-13
Download