Go Advanced Search

Buy from a third party:

Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Arthur Miller
This Publisher: L.A. Theatre Works

Broken Glass by Arthur Miller

Broken Glass

(L.A. Theatre Works full cast performance)

by Arthur Miller

Product Details

Audio Original
Running Time
1 Hr. 42 Mins.
Share This


Set in 1938 Brooklyn, this gripping psychological mystery begins when attractive, level-headed Sylvia Gellburg suddenly loses her ability to walk. The only clue lies in Sylvia’s obsession with news accounts from Germany. Though safe in Brooklyn, Sylvia is terrified by Nazi violence - or is it something closer to home?

Laurence Olivier Award for Best New Play.

AudioFile Magazine review: “Sylvia Gellburg (JoBeth Williams) has stopped walking, and her husband, Philip (Lawrence Pressman), is determined to find out why. His only clue is her growing obsession with stories coming out of Germany about Nazi violence toward Jews. Setting his drama in Brooklyn, 1938, Miller uses the Nazi atrocities overseas as a mirror for the Gellburgs' troubled marriage and Philip's own inadequacies. He creates an intensely personal play, but one that lends itself to the kind of intimacy that audio theater excels in. As Dr. Harry Hyman (David Dukes) probes Sylvia and Philip's secrets, he probes ours as well. That is the mystery of audio after all: It's even more immediate than live stage. Like ripples in pond water, what happens in Germany happens to the Gellburgs and the audience as well, in the hands of these fine artists. Winner of AUDIOFILE Earphones Award”

A L.A. Theatre Works full cast performance starring (in alphabetical order): Jane Brucker, David Dukes, Lawrence Pressman, Linda Purl, John Vickery and JoBeth Williams.

People Who Liked Broken Glass Also Liked These Free Titles:
  The Light Princess
by George MacDonald

  A Doll House
by Henrik Ibsen

by Cassandra Medley

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: August 2006
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: B035906
Available On