Get this audio book:

Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Darren Henley
This Narrator: Marin Alsop
This Publisher: NAXOS AudioBooks

The Story of Classical Music by Darren Henley

The Story of Classical Music

by Darren Henley

Title Details

Unabridged Edition
Running Time
4 Hrs. 34 Min.
User Rating
  5.0  Stars Based on 1 rating


The lives and music of the great composers of classical music unfold in this entertaining account, introduced by the conductor and musical personality Marin Alsop. In 1200 years, classical music grew from the chanting of medieval monks through the symphonies of Beethoven and the grand operas of Wagner to the huge orchestral sound-world of the 21st century, with its electronics and its film music. In her easy-going style, Marin Alsop paints vivid portraits of over 90 composers, each one illustrated with some of his, or her, most famous music.

People Who Liked The Story of Classical Music Also Liked These Free Titles:
  Tancredi: Opera Explained
by Thomson Smillie