Go Advanced Search
 

Buy from a third party:




Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Marco Roth
This Narrator: Michael Goldstrom
This Publisher: Blackstone Audio

The Scientists: A Family Romance by Marco Roth

The Scientists: A Family Romance

by Marco Roth


Product Details

Author
Publisher
 
Unabridged Edition
Running Time
6 Hrs. 58 Min.
Share This

Description

This is a frank, intelligent, and deeply moving debut memoir.

With the precociousness expected of the only child of a doctor and a classical musician - from the time he could get his toddler tongue to pronounce deoxyribonucleic acid, or recite a French poem - Marco Roth was able to share his parents' New York, a world centered around house concerts, a private library of literary classics, and dinner discussions of the latest advances in medicine. That world ended when his father started to suffer the worst effects of the AIDS virus that had infected him in the early 1980s.

What this family could not talk about for years came to dominate the lives of its surviving members, often in unexpected ways. The Scientists is a story of how we first learn from our parents and how we then learn to see them as separate individuals; it's a story of how growing up quickly can slow us down when it comes to knowing about our desires and other people's. A memoir of parents and children in the tradition of Edmund Gosse, Henry Adams, and J. R. Ackerley, The Scientists grapples with a troubled intellectual and emotional inheritance in a style that is both elegiac and defiant.

Marco Roth was raised amid the vanished liberal culture of Manhattan's Upper West Side. After studying comparative literature at Columbia and Yale, he helped found the magazine n+1 in 2004. Recipient of the 2011 Shattuck Prize for literary criticism, he lives in Philadelphia.


People Who Liked The Scientists: A Family Romance Also Liked These Free Titles:
  Barbara Walters: Audition
by Barbara Walters

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: September 2012
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: T066655
Available On
Volumes
ISBN-10
ISBN-13
Download