Go Advanced Search
 

Buy from a third party:




Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: L. Jon Wertheim
This Narrator: L. Jon Wertheim
This Publisher: Random House Audio

Running the Table by L. Jon Wertheim

Running the Table

The Legend of Kid Delicious, the Last Great American Pool Hustler

by L. Jon Wertheim


Video About This Audio Book



Product Details

Narrator
Publisher
 
Abridged Edition
Running Time
5 Hrs. 55 Min.
Share This

Description

From a popular senior writer for Sports Illustrated comes this high-stakes, boys-on-the-road story about the most unlikely of phenoms: a heavyset, bipolar, and endlessly charming pool hustler named Kid Delicious.

In most sports the pinnacle is Wheaties-box notoriety. But in the world of pool, notoriety is the last thing a hustler desires. Such is the dilemma that faces one Danny Basavich, an affable, generously proportioned Jewish kid from Jersey, who flounders through high school until he discovers the one thing he excels at - the felt - and hits the road.

Running the Table spins the outrageous tale of Kid Delicious and his studly, if less talented, set-up man, Bristol Bob. Never was there a more entertaining or mismatched pair of sidekicks, as together they go underground into the flavorfully seamy world of pool to learn the art of the hustle and experience the highs and lows of life on the road. Their four-year odyssey takes them from Podunk pool halls to slick urban billiard rooms across America, as they manage one night to take down as much as $30,000 - only to lose so much the next night that they lack gas money to get home.

With every stop, the action gets hotter, the calls get closer, and Delicious' prowess with a cue stick becomes known more and more widely. Ultimately, Delicious sheds his cover once and for all and becomes professional pool's biggest sensation since Minnesota Fats.

In a book sure to appeal to fans of Bringing Down the House and Positively Fifth Street, Wertheim evokes a subculture full of nefarious but lovable characters and illuminates America's fascination with games and gambling. He also paints a lasting portrait of an insanely talented and magnetic hustler, who is literally larger than life.


People Who Liked Running the Table Also Liked These Free Titles:
  MTNmeister Podcast
by Russell Wilcox

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: September 2007
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: R071297
Available On
Volumes
ISBN-10
ISBN-13
Download