Go Advanced Search

  Get this audio book:

Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Naoki Higashida
This Narrator: David Mitchell, Thomas Judd
This Publisher: Random House Audio

Fall Down 7 Times Get Up 8 by Naoki Higashida

Fall Down 7 Times Get Up 8

A Young Man's Voice from the Silence of Autism

by Naoki Higashida

Video About This Audio Book

Title Details

Unabridged Edition
Running Time
3 Hrs.47 Min.
Share This


From the author of the best-selling The Reason I Jump, an extraordinary self-portrait of life as a young adult with autism

"Essential reading for parents and teachers who work with individuals with autism who remain nonverbal." (Temple Grandin)

Naoki Higashida was only 13 when he wrote The Reason I Jump, a revelatory account of autism from the inside by a nonverbal Japanese child, which became an international success. Now he shares his thoughts and experiences as a 24-year-old man living each day with severe autism. In short, powerful chapters, Higashida explores school memories, family relationships, the exhilaration of travel, and the difficulties of speech. He also allows listeners to experience profound moments we take for granted, like the thought-steps necessary for him to register that it's raining outside. Acutely aware of how strange his behavior can appear to others, he aims throughout to foster a better understanding of autism and to encourage society to see people with disabilities as people, not as problems.

With an introduction by best-selling novelist David Mitchell, Fall Down 7 Times Get Up 8 also includes a dreamlike short story Higashida wrote especially for this edition. Both moving and of practical use, this book opens a window into the mind of an inspiring young man who meets every challenge with tenacity and good humor. However often he falls down, he always gets back up.

People Who Liked Fall Down 7 Times Get Up 8 Also Liked These Free Titles:
  Human: The Movie
by Yann Arthus-Bertrand

  Geek News Central Podcast
by Todd Cochrane

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: July 2017
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: F100048
Available On