Go Advanced Search
 

Buy from a third party:




Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Todd Balf
This Narrator: Ray Childs
This Publisher: Random House Audio

The Darkest Jungle by Todd Balf

The Darkest Jungle

The True Story of the Darien Expedition and America's Ill-fated Race to Connect the Seas

by Todd Balf


Product Details

Author
Narrator
Publisher
 
Abridged Edition
Running Time
6 Hrs. 23 Min.
User Rating
  4.0  Stars Based on 2 ratings
Share This

Description

The Darkest Jungle tells the harrowing story of America's first ship canal exploration across a narrow piece of land in Central America called the Darien, a place that loomed large in the minds of the world's most courageous adventurers in the nineteenth century. With rival warships and explorers from England and France days behind, the 27-member U.S. Darien Exploring Expedition landed on the Atlantic shore at Caledonia Bay in eastern Panama to begin their mad dash up the coast-hugging mountains of the Darien wilderness. The whole world watched as this party attempted to be the first to traverse the 40-mile isthmus, the narrowest spot between the Atlantic and Pacific in all the Americas.

Leading them was the charismatic commander Isaac Strain, an adventuring 33-year-old U.S. Navy lieutenant. The party could have turned back except, said Strain, they were to a man "revolted at the idea" of failing at a task they seemed destined to accomplish. Yet Strain's party would wander lost in the jungle for another sixty nightmarish days, following a tortuously contorted and uncharted tropical river. Their guns rusted in the damp heat, expected settlements never materialized, and the lush terrain provided little to no sustenance. As the unending march dragged on, the party was beset by flesh-embedding parasites and a range of infectious tropical diseases they had no antidote for (or understanding of). In the desperate final days, in the throes of starvation, the survivors flirted with cannibalism and the sickest men had to be left behind so, as the journal keeper painfully recorded, the rest might have a chance to live.

Based on the vividly detailed log entries of Strain and his officers, other period sources, and Balf's own treks in the Darien Gap, this is a rich and utterly compelling historical narrative that will thrill readers who enjoyed In the Heart of the Sea, Isaac's Storm, and other sagas of adventure at the limits of human endurance.


People Who Liked The Darkest Jungle Also Liked These Free Titles:
  Mother's Day for Peace
by Julia Ward Howe

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: 2003
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: T001898
Available On
Volumes
ISBN-10
ISBN-13
Download
9781415901328
Audio CD
073930352X
9780739303528