Go Advanced Search

Get this free title from:

Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Tacitus
This Narrator: Graham Redman, Andrew Coleman
This Publisher: LibriVox

The Annals of Tacitus, Volume 1 by Tacitus

The Annals of Tacitus, Volume 1

by Tacitus

Product Details

Unabridged Edition
Running Time
6 Hrs. 23 Min.
Share This


The Annals was Tacitus' final work, covering the period from the death of Augustus Caesar in the year 14. He wrote at least 16 books, but books 7-10 and parts of books 5, 6, 11 and 16 are missing. Book 6 ends with the death of Tiberius and books 7-12 presumably covered the reigns of Caligula and Claudius. The remaining books cover the reign of Nero, perhaps until his death in June 68 or until the end of that year, to connect with the Histories. The second half of book 16 is missing, ending with the events of the year 66. We do not know whether Tacitus completed the work or whether he finished the other works that he had planned to write; he died before he could complete his planned histories of Nerva and Trajan, and no record survives of the work on Augustus Caesar and the beginnings of the Empire with which he had planned to complete his work as an historian.

People Who Liked The Annals of Tacitus, Volume 1 Also Liked These Free Titles:
  Anglo Saxon England Podcast
by David Crowther

  Trojan War Podcast
by Jeff Wright

  Emperors of Rome Podcast
by Rhiannon Evans

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

Podcast Episodes

Podcast Feed URL:

More Details

  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: T035139
Available On