Get this free title from:

Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Winston Churchill
This Narrator: Michael Jayston
This Publisher: The Copyright Group

The Second World War by Winston Churchill

The Second World War

by Winston Churchill


Title Details

Running Time
16 Hrs. 30 Min.
Listen to this abridged edition of Winston Churchill's monumental six-part series called The Second World War. Published between 1948 and 1953, this series of books was largerly responsible for Churchill receiving the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1953. The books cover the period from the end of the First World War up until the end of World War II in 1945. Churchill wrote the history from his personal point of view as a leading participant in the direction of the war. In this abridged version of the first edition of the series each book runs about 2 Hrs. 45 Min. long and the books are: The Gathering Storm (1948), Their Finest Hour (1949), The Grand Alliance (1950), The Hinge of Fate (1950), Closing the Ring (1951), and Triumph and Tragedy (1953). In its entirety this abridgement runs 16 Hrs. 30 Min., and it is professionally narrated by Michael Jayston whose reading sounds similar to the familiar voice of Churchill. We've assembled a Spotify playlist and a YouTube playlist of the audio book which you can listen to on those platforms.

People Who Liked The Second World War Also Liked These Free Titles:
  Early Modern England
by Keith Wrightson

  The Plantagenets
by Robert C. Bartlett