Go Advanced Search
 

  Get this audio book:




Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Michael Hastings
This Narrator: Ramiz Monsef
This Publisher: Blackstone Audio

The Last Magazine by Michael Hastings

The Last Magazine

A Novel

by Michael Hastings


Video About This Audio Book



Title Details

Narrator
Publisher
 
Unabridged Edition
Running Time
9 Hrs. 10 Min.
Share This

Description

A posthumous debut novel - wry, wise, and outrageous - from award-winning journalist Michael Hastings, based on his experiences working for Newsweek

The year is 2002. Weekly news magazines dominate the political agenda in New York and Washington. A young journalist named Michael M. Hastings is an intern at The Magazine, wet behind the ears, the only one in the office who has actually read his coworkers' books. He will stop at nothing to turn his internship into a full-time position and has figured out just who to impress: Nishant Patel, the international editor, and Sanders Berman, managing editor - both vying for the job of editor-in-chief. While Berman and Nishant try to one-up each other pontificating on cable news, A. E. Peoria - the one reporter seemingly doing any work - is having a career crisis. He has just returned from Chad, where instead of reporting on the genocide, he was told by his editors to focus on mobile-phone outsourcing, as it's more relevant. Then suddenly, the United States invades Iraq - and all hell breaks loose.

As Hastings loses his naïveté about the journalism game, he must choose where his loyalties lie: With the men at The Magazinewho can advance his career or with his friend in the field who is reporting the truth.

The Last Magazine is the debut novel from Michael Hastings, discovered in his files after his death in June 2013. Based on Hastings' own experiences, it is funny, sharp, and fast-paced, a great book about the news game's final days in the tradition of Evelyn Waugh's Scoop, Hunter S. Thompson's The Rum Diary, and Calvin Trillin's Floater.


People Who Liked The Last Magazine Also Liked These Free Titles:
  The Green Odyssey
by Philip Jose Farmer

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: June 2014
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: T095572
Available On
Volumes
ISBN-10
ISBN-13
Download