Get this audio book:

Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: T.H. White
This Narrator: Neville Jason
This Publisher: NAXOS AudioBooks

The Once and Future King by T.H. White

The Once and Future King

by T.H. White

Title Details

Unabridged Edition
Running Time
33 Hrs. 3 Min.
User Rating
  3.0  Stars Based on 1 rating


The complete "box set" of T. H. White's epic fantasy novel of the Arthurian legend. The novel is made up of five parts: "The Sword in the Stone", "The Witch in the Wood", "The Ill-Made Knight", "The Candle in the Wind", and "The Book of Merlyn".

Merlyn instructs the Wart (Arthur) and his brother, Sir Kay, in the ways of the world. One of them will need it: the king has died, leaving no heir, and a rightful one must be found by pulling a sword from an anvil resting on a stone. In the second and third parts of the novel, Arthur has become king and the kingdom is threatened from the north. In the final two books, the ageing king faces his greatest challenge, when his own son threatens to overthrow him. In "The Book of Merlyn", Arthur's tutor Merlyn reappears and teaches him that, even in the face of apparent ruin, there is hope.

People Who Liked The Once and Future King Also Liked These Free Titles:
  Esther Waters
by George Edward Moore

  The Small House at Allington
by Anthony Trollope