Go Advanced Search
 

Buy from a third party:

( Amazon.com )        # of Discs: 8




Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Elizabeth Gaskell
This Narrator: Patience Tomlinson
This Publisher: NAXOS AudioBooks

Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell

Wives and Daughters

by Elizabeth Gaskell


Product Details

Publisher
 
Abridged Edition
Running Time
10 Hrs. 16 Min.
Share This

Description

Wives and Daughters is a sensitive coming-of-age tale set within a provincial town in Victorian England. Having lost her mother at a young age, Molly Gibson's entre into womanhood and navigation of the adult world of attraction and relationships is stilted. By contrast, her stepsister Cynthia emanates self-confidence and is bolstered by her conniving, opportunistic mother. By unhappy mischance, Molly falls for the very man that the vivacious Cynthia has set her sights on. However, as events unfold, the deceptive nature of appearances becomes apparent, and a dramatic reversal of fortunes occurs. In the tradition of Jane Austen, Wives and Daughters is a captivating novel of social observation, humour and touching romance. Patience Tomlinson is an experienced audiobook reader and presents this novel with a steady, comfortable assurance.


People Who Liked Wives and Daughters Also Liked These Free Titles:
  Vanity Fair
by William Makepeace Thackeray

  Intro to Poetry Podcast
by William Shakespeare

  The Tolkien Road Podcast
by John Carswell

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: March 2010
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: W038411
Available On
Volumes
ISBN-10
ISBN-13
Download
Audio CD
8 Discs
9626349271
9789626349274