Go
 

  Get this audio book:

( Amazon.com )        # of Discs: 8




Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Elizabeth Gaskell
This Narrator: Patience Tomlinson
This Publisher: NAXOS AudioBooks

Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell

Wives and Daughters

by Elizabeth Gaskell


Title Details

Publisher
 
Abridged Edition
Running Time
10 Hrs. 16 Min.

Description

Wives and Daughters is a sensitive coming-of-age tale set within a provincial town in Victorian England. Having lost her mother at a young age, Molly Gibson's entre into womanhood and navigation of the adult world of attraction and relationships is stilted. By contrast, her stepsister Cynthia emanates self-confidence and is bolstered by her conniving, opportunistic mother. By unhappy mischance, Molly falls for the very man that the vivacious Cynthia has set her sights on. However, as events unfold, the deceptive nature of appearances becomes apparent, and a dramatic reversal of fortunes occurs. In the tradition of Jane Austen, Wives and Daughters is a captivating novel of social observation, humour and touching romance. Patience Tomlinson is an experienced audiobook reader and presents this novel with a steady, comfortable assurance.


People Who Liked Wives and Daughters Also Liked These Free Titles:
  Wings and the Child
by Edith Nesbit

  A Christmas Carol
by Charles Dickens

  Allan Quatermain
by Henry Rider Haggard