Get this audio book:

Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Joyce Carol Oates
This Publisher: HighBridge Audio

Evil Eye: Four Novellas of Love Gone Wrong by Joyce Carol Oates

Evil Eye: Four Novellas of Love Gone Wrong

by Joyce Carol Oates

Video About This Audio Book

Title Details

Unabridged Edition
Running Time
6 Hrs. 28 Min.


Listeners know that few authors are able to create an atmosphere of unease and terror as well as Oates, a fact confirmed by the four novellas presented here.

In the title story, "Evil Eye," a young woman has recently become the fourth wife of a highly demanding man. When his first wife comes to stay with them, she warns the new bride that her husband is insane, and that she must find a way to protect herself. In "So Near Anytime Always," a fateful meeting in a library leads to a boy's obsessive interest in a teenage girl. In "The Execution," spoiled college student Bart Hansen has forgotten to factor in one person in his plan to commit the perfect, brutal crime: his mother. And in "The Flatbed," a beautiful young woman struggles with frigidity until a shocking act releases her.

All the novellas in this collection revolve around the theme of love gone wrong - horribly, shockingly wrong.


People Who Liked Evil Eye: Four Novellas of Love Gone Wrong Also Liked These Free Titles:
  A Story of the Stone Age
by H.G. Wells

  Homemade Stories Podcast
by Shannon Cason

  Zip, the Adventures of a Frisky Fox Terrier
by Frances Trego Montgomery

More Details

  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: E069285
Available On