Go Advanced Search

  Get this audio book:

Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Ron Rash
This Publisher: Harper Audio

Nothing Gold Can Stay: Stories by Ron Rash

Nothing Gold Can Stay: Stories

by Ron Rash

Title Details

Unabridged Edition
Running Time
5 Hrs. 54 Min.
Share This


PEN/Faulkner Award finalist and New York Times best-selling author Ron Rash turns again to Appalachia to capture lives haunted by violence and tenderness, hope and fear, in unforgettable stories that span from the Civil War to the present day.

In the title story, two drug-addicted friends return to the farm where they worked as boys to steal their former boss' gruesomely unusual war trophies. In "The Trusty", which first appeared in The New Yorker, a prisoner sent to fetch water for his chain gang tries to sweet-talk a farmer's young wife into helping him escape, only to find that she is as trapped as he is. In "Something Rich and Strange", a diver is called upon to pull a drowned girl's body free from under a falls, but he finds her eerily at peace below the surface.

The violence of Rash's characters and their raw settings are matched only by their resonance and stark beauty, a masterful combination that has earned Rash an avalanche of praise.

People Who Liked Nothing Gold Can Stay: Stories Also Liked These Free Titles:
  Christmas Holidays at Merryvale
by Alice Hale Burnett

  The Singing Mouse Stories
by Emerson Hough

  The Heart of Happy Hollow
by Paul Laurence Dunbar

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: February 2013
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: N069021
Available On