Go Advanced Search

Get this free title from:

Free Stuff in These Categories
Find More Titles by
This Author: Mark Twain
This Narrator: John Greenman
This Publisher: LibriVox

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

by Mark Twain


Product Details

Unabridged Edition
Running Time
10 Hrs.
Share This


Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (often shortened to Huck Finn) is a novel written by Mark Twain and published in 1884. It is commonly regarded as one of the Great American Novels, and is one of the first major American novels written in the vernacular, characterized by local color regionalism. It is told in the first person by Huckleberry "Huck" Finn, best friend of Tom Sawyer and narrator of two other Twain novels.

The book is noted for its colorful description of people and places along the Mississippi River. By satirizing a Southern antebellum society that was already anachronistic at the time, the book is an often scathing look at entrenched attitudes, particularly racism. The drifting journey of Huck and his friend Jim, a runaway slave, down the Mississippi River on their raft may be one of the most enduring images of escape and freedom in all of American literature.

The book has been popular with young readers since its publication and is taken as a sequel to The Adventures of Tom Sawyer. It has also been the continued object of study by serious literary critics. The book was criticized upon release because of its coarse language, and became even more controversial in the 20th century because of its perceived use of racial stereotypes and because of its frequent use of the racial slur, "nigger." In answer to a critic of his style, Twain once said, "A discriminating irreverence is the creator and protector of human liberty."

People Who Liked Adventures of Huckleberry Finn Also Liked These Free Titles:
  Sister Carrie
by Theodore Dreiser

  Maggie: A Girl of the Streets
by Stephen Crane

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

Podcast Episodes

Podcast Feed URL:
  • Chapter 01

  • Chapter 02

  • Chapter 03

  • Chapter 04

  • Chapter 05

  • Chapter 06

  • Chapter 07

  • Chapter 08

  • Chapter 09

  • Chapter 10

  • Chapter 11

  • Chapter 12

  • Chapter 13

  • Chapter 14

  • Chapter 15

  • Chapter 16

  • Chapter 17

  • Chapter 18

  • Chapter 19

  • Chapter 20

  • Chapter 21

  • Chapter 22

  • Chapter 23

  • Chapter 24

  • Chapter 25

  • Chapter 26

  • Chapter 27

  • Chapter 28

  • Chapter 29

  • Chapter 30

  • Chapter 31

  • Chapter 32

  • Chapter 33

  • Chapter 34

  • Chapter 35

  • Chapter 36

  • Chapter 37

  • Chapter 38

  • Chapter 39

  • Chapter 40

  • Chapter 41

  • Chapter 42

  • Chapter 43

  • More Details

    • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: A034618
    Available On