Get this free title from:

Free Stuff in These Categories
Find More Titles by
This Author: Aeschylus
This Publisher: LibriVox

The Oresteia by Aeschylus

The Oresteia

by Aeschylus

Title Details

Unabridged Edition
Running Time
4 Hrs. 19 Min.


The Oresteia is a trilogy by Aeschylus, one of the foremost playwrights of ancient Greece. It encompasses three plays: Agamemnon, The Libation Bearers, and The Furies. It tells the tragic tale of the House of Atreus, whose inhabitants have been cursed and are doomed to play out their bloody, vengeful destinies. At the beginning of the first part, the Trojan War has ended and the Greek general, Agamemnon, is returning victorious to his wife Clytemnestra. Yet she finds it difficult to forgive his sacrifice of their daughter, Iphigenia, who was killed to ensure the Greek fleet fair winds in their voyage to Troy. Her desire for vengeance, and its dire consequences, instigates the action of these poetic tragedies.

People Who Liked The Oresteia Also Liked These Free Titles:
  The Satyricon
by Gaius Petronius Arbiter

  The Egyptian Book of the Dead
by E.A. Wallis Budge

Podcast Details

Podcast Feed URL:

More Details

  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: T035335
Available On