Get this free title from:

Free Stuff in These Categories
Find More Titles by
This Author: Conrad Aiken
This Publisher: LibriVox

The House of Dust: A Symphony by Conrad Aiken

The House of Dust: A Symphony

by Conrad Aiken

Title Details

Unabridged Edition
Running Time
2 Hrs. 21 Min.


The House of Dust is a poem written in the four-movement format of a classical symphony. Hauntingly beautiful despite its bleak post-World War I depictions of human mortality and loss, the poem develops its movements around central images such as Japanese ukiyo-e ("floating world") woodblock prints, touching the reader's senses with endlessly evocative allusions to wind, sea, and weather. In this underlying Japanese sensibility and dependence on central perceptual images, Aiken's poem is similar to poetry of Imagists of the time such as Amy Lowell. Also deeply influenced by the concepts of modern psychology, Aiken delved deeply into individual human identity and emotion.

People Who Liked The House of Dust: A Symphony Also Liked These Free Titles:
  The Best of William Burroughs
by William Burroughs

  Holy Soul Jelly Roll
by Allen Ginsberg

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

Podcast Details

Podcast Feed URL:

More Details

  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: T077544
Available On