Go Advanced Search

  Get this audio book:

Learn More About
Find More Titles by
This Author: Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn
This Narrator: Frederick Davidson
This Publisher: Blackstone Audio

The Gulag Archipelago: Volume II Section I by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

The Gulag Archipelago: Volume II Section I

by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

Product Details

Unabridged Edition
Running Time
12 Hrs. 7 Min.
Share This


The first four-fifths of this volume cover what the author calls the "Destructive-Labor Camps" and the fate of prisoners in them, felling timber, building canals and railroads, mining gold, without equipment or adequate food or clothing, and subject always to the caprices of the camp authorities. Most tragic of all is the life of the women prisoners...and of the luckless children they bear.
Once again, this chronicle of appalling inhumanity is made endurable by the vitality and emotional range of the writing. In one truly remarkable chapter -- a parody of an anthropological treatise -- he achieves new heights of sardonic wit. And in the final section, the music changes and Solzhenitsyn provides a magnificent coda on the possibilities of redemption and purification through suffering.

People Who Liked The Gulag Archipelago: Volume II Section I Also Liked These Free Titles:
  Unmasking Stalin
by Robert Rand

Reviews & Ratings
User Reviews         Rate this title  

More Details

  • Published: 1990
  • Original Year Of Publication: 1973
  • LearnOutLoud.com Product ID: T002070
Available On
8 Tapes