Get this free title from:

Free Stuff in These Categories
Find More Titles by
This Author: William Wordsworth
This Narrator: Phil Benson
This Publisher: LibriVox

The River Duddon: A Series of Sonnets by William Wordsworth

The River Duddon: A Series of Sonnets

by William Wordsworth

Title Details

Unabridged Edition
Running Time
1 Hr. 15 Min.


Located in a part of Cumbria that was once part of Lancashire, the River Duddon rises in the high fells of the Lake District and flows for 25 miles through varied scenery before disappearing into the sands between Millom and Barrow-in-Furness. Wordsworth’s series of sonnets, inspired by his walks along the river, were written over a period of years, but are arranged so as to follow its downward course from the fells to the sea.

Part One of this reading consists of the 33 sonnets and postscript that were first published as a series in 1820. Later editions of Wordsworth’s works included a 34th sonnet, which is appended to Part One.

Part Two contains Wordsworth’s rather eccentric notes on the sonnets, which are largely taken up by an account of the remarkable career of the Reverend ‘Wonderful’ Walker, who lived to the age of 94 after serving as curate of Seathwaite chapel for 67 years from 1735 to 1802. I have read the sonnets using a northern English accent as I believe Wordsworth may have read them himself.

People Who Liked The River Duddon: A Series of Sonnets Also Liked These Free Titles:
  The Gardener
by Rabindranath Tagore

  Chimney: The Family Cat
by Pamela Douglas

Podcast Details

Podcast Feed URL: