Get this free title from:

Free Stuff in These Categories
Find More Titles by
This Author: George Santayana
This Narrator: Fredrik Karlsson
This Publisher: LibriVox

The Life of Reason, Volume 1 by George Santayana

The Life of Reason, Volume 1

by George Santayana

Title Details

Unabridged Edition
Running Time
9 Hrs. 48 Min.


The Life of Reason, subtitled "the Phases of Human Progress", is a book published in five volumes from 1905 to 1906, by Spanish-born American philosopher George Santayana (1863-1952). It consists of Reason in Common Sense, Reason in Society, Reason in Religion, Reason in Art, and Reason in Science. The work is considered to be the most complete expression of Santayana's moral philosophy [...]. Santayana's philosophy is strongly influenced by the materialism of Democritus and the refined ethics of Aristotle, with a special emphasis on the natural development of ideal ends. The Life of Reason is sometimes considered to be one of the most poetic and well-written works of philosophy in Western history. To supply but a single example, the oft-quoted aphorism of Santayana's, "Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it," may be found on p. 284 of Reason in Common Sense.

People Who Liked The Life of Reason, Volume 1 Also Liked These Free Titles:
  Understanding Objectivism
by Leonard Peikoff

  The Antichrist
by Friedrich Nietzsche

Podcast Details

Podcast RSS Feed URL: